Oster® 1.7L 360° Illuminating Glass Kettle

Details

BVSTKT7098-033
Oster BVSTKT7098-033 https://www.oster.ca/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-master-catalog/default/dw7f80f6a0/images/highres/BVSTKT7098-1.jpg
0.00 N/A

Heat water for tea, coffee or hot cereal using a beautiful glass kettle that glows while it boils. The Oster® Illuminating Glass Kettle is perfect for the office, kitchen or dorm.

Product Specs:

  • Dimensions: 9.48" H x 6.33" W x 8.5" D
  • Cord length: 27"
  • Watts: 1500W
See More...

Additional Information

Boil water with an electric kettle that is as fashionable as it is functional. The Oster® Illuminating Glass Kettle lights up on the inside while it’s boiling tea for your hot drinks. The perfect coffee or tea kettle, this Oster® kettle is designed with a rotating base, making it easy to grip the handle and serve. Stay safe with its auto shut-off and dry boil protection. And keep your water free of impurities thanks to a fine mesh filter in the pour spout. 

  • 1.7L Capacity
  • Blue illumination while the kettle is on
  • Auto shut-off and boil dry protection
  • Convenient 360° rotational base
Oster® 1.7L 360° Illuminating Glass Kettle is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 93.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from RIP Christmas 2015 - Oct 10th, 2016 We were happy with our small kitchen appliance addition on Christmas Day 2015. From that morning until October 10th ( Thanksgiving) our little kettle with it's bright blue light brightened our early mornings with lovely hot water for our coffees, will no longer be with us as it's on/off switch has stopped working. Rest in Peace little kettle! For those looking to purchase this kettle beware as it will not be long before your on/off switch gives way!
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loved it until it broke 2.5 months after purchase I really loved this kettle, but I bought it June 11th, and it broke for no reason on August 20th. Such a bummer. We took good care of it and I was hoping it would last .
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really disappointing I bought this 3 years ago and have been happy with it. Love the glass and the blue light. I can live with the rust in the bottom, but the on off switch broke last night so the kettle is no longer usable. From reading reviews here & on Amazon, it's a common problem. There's only a 1 yr warranty on mine. Those in the store now have a 5 year warranty but I'm not going to risk another purchase as Oster doesn't seem to have been able to fix it, given the dates on the reviews. I would have expected them to change the design/switch given the number of reviews stating the same issue. I've contacted the company and am awaiting a response. In my opinion, if I pay that much money for a kettle it should last longer than 3 years.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice kitchen accessory! I received this kettle as a sample and would recommend it to my friends and family. The kettle looks beautiful when illuminated and it also looks nice on the counter when not in use. The clear glass kettle lets you see the water level and the boiling progress. Measurements are clearly marked on the glass in liters, not ounces or cups. Its large opening makes it easy to fill with water. The kettle is easy to maneuver, the button that opens the lid can be easily pressed with the same hand that's holding the handle. The only downside is the weight, the kettle gets a little heavy when full and it's not very easy to wash out. It would be great for college students and those tight on space.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv it! I also enjoy my blue-illuminated kitchen when I make tea in the early morning hours or late, after sundown. But it's like anything else, it needs to be cleaned out to keep the glass clear. I just boil a little white vinegar with water every so often. Also important is to keep the lid open so that there's no molds that can accumulate around the pour spout and lid recess....just give it a wipe with the vinegar water now and then. Simple.
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Little Kettle! The Oster Illuminating Kettle is an interesting concept in that its main selling point is the fact that it lights up in a pretty, blue color. The color is impressive, especially in the early hours of the morning. Oster has made every effort to streamline this product. There are not many differentiated uses for the kettle, so Oster has attempted to make the product as slim and efficient as possible. The kettle detaches from its base and it will fit into slim spots on the counter. The kettle boils water at a clocked 5 minutes and is good for making tea, pasta, and ramen noodles. I received this kettle as a sample and would recommend this product if you have room and need for another appliance.
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Toggle switch dead after a year We bought the kettle about a year ago and were very happy with it. It gets used daily for both tea and coffee. It was always gently used. Well, today the toggle on/off switch died on us it's as floppy as a wet noodle. Should we buy another Oster kettle? We'll shop around.
Date published: 2017-06-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good while it works The on\off switch on this kettle looks and feels quite fragile and turns out it IS fragile. After less than a year of use it just flaps around doing nothing. Poor design.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible switch The switch on mine broke after only 14 months. I am very disappointed with this kettle. It wasn't cheap to buy, but it doesn't seem very well made.
Date published: 2017-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Switch We bought this kettle less than a year ago, worked well until automatic switch broke down. Kettle is useless now
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Oster kettle Had it for 4 monthe and on and off switch broke it is made of plastic
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Illuminating feature amazes me! I have found it very useful when making tea super-fast or warming up my coffee instead of using the microwave. It has a very elegant blue illuminating light that looks amazing when turned on, that was the first thing that amazed me when I turned it on I guess the blue light helps you remember that it is on. I don’t have to worry if I leave it on because it has an auto shut off feature that shuts off the kettle after certain time. Amazed at how it boils liquids in seconds and you can see it through the clear glass. The handle is thick and strong enough to pour little or a lot of liquid easily. Found the mesh filter to be real easy to remove when washing it also it is very easy to attach the kettle on and off the base. I received this product as a sample to review.
Date published: 2014-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ON/OFF Switch Failure I was quite happy with this kettle until the on/off switch failed and after looking at other reviews there is obviously a problem with this switch which is a pity as I like the way it is illuminated when switched on and I can tell at a glance that my water has boiled.
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from help I'm looking for a parts list and part availability. The on/off switch return spring mechanism is broken right on the blue lit button for this particular model BVSTKT7098-033.
Date published: 2014-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better tasting water faster Have had mine 6months love love love it ! Ordered my mum one today she stayed here last week and couldn't beleive the difference between hers and mine . She has a plastic type white one now but not for long ! She says water tastes way better and it heats up so fast ! Plus bonus light and bubble show ! We are such kids at heart . But seriously I love this thing!
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The on/off switch no longer working I bought this Kettle a few months ago and I loved it (the overall function and the blue light) however the on/off switch is no longer working...It does not stay on and immediately turns off. I don't know how and if it can be fixed?
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last long! The kettle's on/off lever mechanism broke just after 1.5 years of normal use in a household of two. The lever travels freely within its working range with no click sound in the "on" position, so apparently there's no link between the lever and the rest of the mechanism. As a result the kettle doesn't start boiling water when I press the lever as usually. The manufacturer's warranty is just 1 year, so it is too late for me to request a replacement. I purchased that kettle to last for years in addition to another one in our household, which has been operating for 6.5 years and is still in good shape. Now I'm forced to throw the perfectly looking kettle away just because of the small plastic lever failure. I'm very disappointed with my purchase and would not recommend anyone to invest in that kettle. It broke in the worst possible time, when outside temperatures are in the single digits nearing 0°F at night, and we need to have our cup of tea like never before. It's too bad to learn that purchasing Oster no longer means purchasing a quality product that one can rely on.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from leaks after a year and a half of regular use I thought for $120.00 this kettle would be amazing. Although it lights up very nicely and boils in a reasonable amount of time it now leaks. Every time i go to pour it has a very rapid leak
Date published: 2016-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MUST if you have kids! We use a ton of mac and cheese and tea at our house so we needed something way more convenient. This kettle totally fits the bill! It is SUPER easy to use! Heats water right up and is able to rotate on heated base so easy to share at table. The only con I can even say (and I'm stretching it) is the small little lip at top that sometimes drips a little but I personally don't see any other way it could work properly without it. But this is so minor that honestly I don't even pay attention to it. At the end of the day when in use or just on shelf, it is even beautiful to look at! I really LOVE this item! A must if you have kids!!! We have literally used it every day since getting it! I can thank you enough for letting me sample this product to review!
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty kettle but leaks badly after only 6 months Purchased this in October 2015 & by March 2016 the kettle started to leak around the top where the glass & plastic meet, Makes pouring boiled water really messy! While I love the look of the kettle, really disappointed in it's short time to failure. We only use it about 2 times a day....
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my new kettle I bought this a month ago directly from the Oster site as they had a promotion that suited my price point. It was a rush purchase because my Breville Glass Kettle instantly died less than a year after purchasing it. So far my new purchase has exceeded my expectations and I'm very happy. Delivery was as promised and the set up instructions were clear and easy to follow. I use my kettle at least once a day and it still looks like new! For anyone that is concerned about "the ring after one use" that other reviewers complain of that's is because they boil their kettle dry so you can discredit their opinion as bunk. If you live in an area that has hard water Oster gives you a cost effective and environment friendly recommendation to care for your kettle. This is a good kettle.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Kettle! The Oster Illuminated Kettle is great for boiling water fast for tea, oatmeal, ramen noodles, etc. To me, the best feature is the automatic shutoff; no worrying that I forgot to turn it off. My daughter prefers using the kettle instead of the microwave to make hot water for her oatmeal. The kettle is easy to clean, is modern looking and doesn't take up much counter space. I received this kettle as a sample, but I drink a lot of tea and would definitely spend the money for this very cool, light-up kettle.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worked well while it lasted... Like others the on switch has broken. Very disappointing for the price of this kettle. Luckily I kept my old $20 kettle which refuses to die. I do not recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Discoloured after only a few days of use The kettle has only been in use about a month. The sides and bottom look so gross now I am replacing it. My stainless steel kettle never had this problem. I have never boiled this kettle dry, or even boiled it with less than the recommended amount of water. I am concerned there is something leaching out of the bottom into my water to cause this discoloration. I wiped the sides with vinegar and the paper towel came out black. But vinegar does nothing for the stain on the bottom.
Date published: 2020-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pretty kettle but After under a year, the switch stops working and you have to hold it down to get the water to boil. Oster is going downhill in quality.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the kettle! Love the kettle, however, I'm hoping the knob on it doesn't break. It appears to be very delicate. I suppose time will tell.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Switch is broken we have had this nice looking kettle for around a year and suddenly the on off switch has broken. ergo no hot water.../
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from On/Off Switch too fragiale We used for about 2 years and now the plastic On/Off switch is broken. The kettle body made ok
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty but Not Built to Last Looked & worked great (I LOVED the light!) until the connection pin underneath broke just outside of the 1 year warranty period. I looked underneath & yes it's made offshore which means it's designed with built-in obsolescence. I'm looking for a made here replacement. There is absolutely NO reason a kettle can't last longer than a year. All that material going to the landfill due to a broken pin upsets me. I'm sad 'cause I loved that light on my kitchen counter!
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fix the Pouring Spout First time using this brand but it's a little disappointed on the basic function of the kettle. When you pour water out of the kettle it's not straight. it spills all over the place. Trust me, i pour water everyday. I tried to pour slow, fast, higher lower you name it, it always makes a mess. Why is it so hard for a $70.00 kettle to pour water normally? did you guys even test the design? The mouth is so small of course it will make a mess everytime you pour!
Date published: 2018-04-26
  • y_2020, m_8, d_5, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_93
  • loc_en_CA, sid_BVSTKT7098-033, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_oster-jcs